Poets logo

Not Any More

I literally do not have it in me

By Brenton FPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
9
Melbourne City, Victoria Australia - a hillside a hundred yards down my street 2021

you can't make me go back to the city

there's nothing there for me

i don't want to go back to the city

i enjoy not being there; actuaLLY

you can't make me go i dig in my heels

fuck you no way man

i'm not gonna go i dig in my heels

fuck you no way man

you can't make me go

cause there's nothing there for me

i'm not giving up this serenity

not for all the nine to five

not for all the gravy train rides

that’s just an insistent

persistent existence

it’s a living yeah but it’s not alive

if i wanted to be a zombie

i’d have a government job

i’d give the nothing i have

…all of it

so there’s nothing in the city for me

and nothing there for you

it’s a trap inside a silly game

makes you stressed leaves you blue

nothing there for you

nothing there for me

and the nothing from this nothing

is even less but you cant see

that’s why it takes fifty minutes

to get into town on the train

so you’ve got all that time

to get off at a prior stop

i don’t wanna go back to the city

i need the sky above me not concrete

i don't wanna go back to the city

i need the birds and i need the trees

i don't wanna go back to the city

i need the suburban calm this ease

i aint ever going back there for anyone

yeah nah

not any more

surreal poetrysocial commentary
9

About the Creator

Brenton F

It's just a token of my extreme - Frank Zappa

- - -

I have an eBook, a collection of my favourite pieces

Link to Amazon

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Gina C.11 months ago

    "it’s a living yeah but it’s not alive" -- this is so true. As someone who has traveled the world and is now stuck in a mundane 9-5 cycle...please, don't go back to the city 🥹❤️ Your poems feel like my subconscious speaking, you capture the essence of wisdom so well!

  • Ah the city is definitely a trap inside a silly game. I just wish I can go live in a cottage in the woods! Loved your poem!

  • Andrew C McDonald11 months ago

    Stalking the streets of this concrete jungle, I wonder… Am I the alpha predator here, or merely unwary prey? Around me bustling, jostling herds of oblivious human cattle follow follow the run laid out before them. Unknowing that each step they take brings them closer t0 the slaughterhouse. Nope. Fuck that! Time to hit the lonely, open highway my friend. 🐾🐾🐾🐾

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.