Poets logo

Nonsonnet

Not-A-Sonnet About Love at a Distance (and Books)

By Michelle Truman | Prose and Puns | Noyath BooksPublished 2 years ago • 1 min read
4
Nonsonnet
Photo by Matias North on Unsplash

Forgive me my escaping into fantasy and fiction;

The realities in life can be too much for me to bear.

And anyone who looks can see that you are my addiction

When my heart is breaking every day because you are not there.

The days and nights grow longer in the time between your kisses

And I cry myself to sleep when I'm without your sweet embrace.

But when you're gone I fear that I'm the only one who misses

And that you are unaffected by the absence of my face.

So, if you ever wonder why I read and write so often

It is only to abate these fears and worries when they rage.

Your presence and your voice aside, the only things that soften

All the blades of pain inside me are the words upon a page.

love poems
4

About the Creator

Michelle Truman | Prose and Puns | Noyath Books

I fell in love with speculative fiction and poetry many years ago, but I have precious little time to write any. It was high time I started making Prose and Puns a priority, starting with Purple Poetry, Auqredis, and the World of Noyath.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Jennifer Plate VanHoy2 years ago

    That was fun!

  • This was so relatable! Loved this line especially: All the blades of pain inside me are the words upon a page.

  • Thank you💕

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Fantastic!💖💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.