Poets logo

Non Racing sleep

While awake

By Antoinette L BreyPublished 2 years ago β€’ 1 min read
Non Racing sleep
Photo by Greg Bulla on Unsplash

In my mind I screamed

Run girl, run

On the surface-I remained polite

And then after a socially correct period

I left

My mind relaxed

Anything as long as I was away

Brought peace

Anger fading

Talking with my cat

No lies

settling in my chair

relaxing into the baseball game

No pretense in my house

No draining of my patience

Sailing solo

No lies

No games

Sleeping solo- no massage

And yet sitting solo

My eyes close

And my body relaxes

My mind is numb

No waves rushing though my minds haven

No thoughts

No pain

I'm alone

I've escaped

I am not playing

Any man's games

inspirational

About the Creator

Antoinette L Brey

I am an elder in a time of freedom. I am now retired. All i want to do is have fun. Without a daily routine, my imagination is one of my only salvations. I am not planning on writing a book, it is just for my own pleasure

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Dawn Salois2 years ago

    Very powerful poem!

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Fabulous inspirational poem!!! Loving the last lineπŸ’•πŸ’–πŸ˜ŠπŸ’•

  • Nice poem. Well written and communicated.

  • This comment has been deleted

ALBWritten by Antoinette L Brey

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.