Poets logo

Non-Confrontational

The Introvert

By Hector GonzalezPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
2
Non-Confrontational
Photo by Tingey Injury Law Firm on Unsplash

Here we go again;

something else I’ve failed to do.

I feel the tension in the air;

too thick for the knife to cut through.

I can see it; her discomfort;

she holds her arms as she speaks.

Eyebrows upraised as her voice slowly peaks.

She must have seen it, too;

The confusion on my face

as my eyes squinted to understand

the meaning of her pace.

Now I hear the sound

of the anger in her words.

A fever pitch of violence

raining down like shitting birds.

They say it’s good luck,

but I really hate the smell.

Fear emanating from anger;

a steaming fragrant yell.

Leaves a bad taste in my mouth;

I wish I knew what to do.

I retreat into my shell

to consult my point of view.

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Hector Gonzalez

I'm a creative writer. I don't blog or write op-eds. I talk about my perspectives on twitch as I write and I consolidate my most intricate feelings into poetic forms. I'm always open for meaningful conversation.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jess12 months ago

    Loved this take on the challenge—really plays into sensorial analogies in a tangible way!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.