Poets logo

No Stranger to the Sea

Free Me Into the Breeze

By A_Skeleton_SpeaksPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
2
No Stranger to the Sea
Photo by Christopher Campbell on Unsplash

I feel like I have been drowning my whole life

I never stood on land from the start

The water was never something that I just fell into

And kept sinking and sinking until I

Became the very thing I once had

Until I became lost

I was born in the deep end

I was told my chances were slim

But I still tried to take them

Even though I never learned how to swim

I have been pushing and pushing

Just to get my head above the waves

Pushing to reach the hand that does not dismiss me

But helps me put one foot on the shore

So I can follow with the other

And run wild with abandon

And finally breathe

Breathe an air where so long the crashing waves

Poured into my lungs with a salty liquor

A bottle could never contain

Finally breathe without the pain of it

Infecting the wounds I have worn

That were never mine from the beginning

But I have continued to be dressed in

Never knowing how to heal them

Never knowing how to stop the leaking

Never knowing how to stop myself from bleeding

I am scared I will soon succumb to the bottom

Without getting to reach the top

Because no one can see my problem

The many all rolled into one

Wishing I knew how to solve them

And the equations ever-change in front of my eyes

But because they can never see it

All I tell are lies

I just want to be free

Of this sea that drowns me

surreal poetryslam poetrysad poetryperformance poetrynature poetryinspirational
2

About the Creator

A_Skeleton_Speaks

Formerly: Introducing Poetry

Writing allows me to release

All that holds me

Hope you enjoy the journey with me on a path to healing and growth!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • AngelBee9 months ago

    I love this!!! This is one of those phenomenal poems that I understand completely! Thank you for this! This is beautiful!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.