Poets logo

No Stranger to Death

I told her No.

By Alice GruPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

It was her

Who slithered through the seems of my confinement

It was her

Who infringed upon

The darkest corners of my psyche

It was her

At the bottom of the bottle

Pills and alcohol

It was her

Sharpened to a point

Tearing through my skin

And It was her

In the reflection of the broken shards of my life

Surrounding me

Unable to take step

Without pain

I wallowed alone

With a thousand reflections of death

Tormenting me

Enticing me

A thousand reflections of myself

Staring back at me

With judgmental eyes

A thousand opinions

Of who I am

And who I should be

A thousand voices

So loud

And so familiar

It was her

Who offered silence

And comfort

It was her

Who displayed a utopia

At the end of a dark rainbow

It was her

Who presented an escape

From the dysphoria That shimmered in those shards

And it was me

Who told her

No

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Alice Gru

I was mistaken for a porcelain doll when I was younger. That porcelain is now broken and expressed through poetry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.