Poets logo

No One Celebrates May Day Where I Live Now! No Treat!

As kids, we would help Mom make baskets and share them with the neighbors across the street.

By Denise E LindquistPublished 12 months ago 2 min read
2
No One Celebrates May Day Where I Live Now! No Treat!
Photo by Jovan Vasiljević on Unsplash

Mom always said May Day was because everyone was tired of winter and needed a treat.

This was the real sign of Spring she said. No more snow on the ground and it was an easy retreat.

We had to run after leaving the basket and knocking on the neighbor's door as it was their job to chase and kiss us, and I would whine.

My siblings were all little and I didn’t want any neighbor kissing me or mine.

Mom liked to bake and oh what she could make! The smell of the house was divine.

The baskets were always small and we could run because there was no ice and snow.

There was just enough for someone to know that they were cared about after a long winter of nothing to grow.

Mom and the neighbors always had a lovely big garden. Mom said it was important with big families.

Sometimes there would be packets of seeds in the baskets and maybe even a bottle of honey with bees.

I grew up thinking this happened everywhere. But no, just a few places before it ended or maybe just a few years.

Some days I think it is too bad that so much has changed. Then again it isn’t enough of a loss to bring tears.

Many places I have lived families may not have been able to afford to do this and there were years for my family as well.

When you grow older sometimes it is the good old memories of years past that keep a smile on your face. And that is pretty swell!

It is still okay to share a basket with someone!

Happy May Day everyone!!

love poemsheartbreak
2

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Loryne Andawey12 months ago

    This sounds like an awesome celebration, one we need to bring back. That will only strengthen community ties. Loved and subscribed :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.