Poets logo

No, not today

You won't take this from me

By Miss KPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
Like
No, not today
Photo by Attentie Attentie on Unsplash

Turn, for God's sake

Just turn and look

Look into my eyes

Say it one more time

Tell it to my face

Maybe this time

The words will change

Maybe this time

You'd think about how I would feel

Maybe this time

You wouldn't hurt me

Like you always do

I stood there in fright

All of me shook

I was mad and angry

I felt betrayed and sad

But he wasn't going to have his way

Not this time

Not when I had something to say too

He would hear my voice

And I will not be ignored

He knew it and I felt it

I was stronger now

I had given all of me

He threw it right back in my face

And he thought I would take it

Sitting still like I always do

But I said No!

You won't hurt me anymore

I free myself from this

The hurt, pain, disrespect

I let it all go

The look in my eye must have scared him

Cause when he turned

There was fear in his eyes

Never seen him look that way

Vulnerable, like his words just got

Caught in his throat

Almost like the cat got his tongue

He stood right in front of me

And no words came out

He bit his lip

In all the time I knew him

He only did that once

When he was nervous about losing his job

And today, here he was again

Nervous before me

Who was I?

I always wondered what I had

Was never really sure what I brought to the table

I never felt worthy by his side

And today, I felt respect

Today, I was important

I mattered enough to make him nervous

And I remember this feeling

Whenever I feel small in my eyes

That the only person who can make me

Feel important, worthy, and valuable

Is me and to treasure that truth

Because it would resonate with people

And they would treat me with respect too

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Miss K

Here for the experience

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.