Poets logo

No Mother! I won't

by Charuni Nayanathara

By Cordellia NovisPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
1

She woke up in shock

from a worst nightmare

"Amma, Amma"

Her cry and scream woke

up the other

"Yes Darling Dear!

What's the matter?"

"Why was I born?"

Her mother was surprised

at the unexpected question

Midst of the night

yet she answered

"To Live a Life

Never less of happiness

with no regrets

always full of sunny days,

to your heart's content."

"Then, Amma what is my purpose?"

Amma thought for a little

and calmly answered

"Born to do a lot,

not a little.

My dear you were born with

a bucket of responsibilities

and a list of duties

you shouldn't lose the list

neither can turn over the bucket

and let responsibilities flow down the river"

"But, How can I when the world stops me?"

After a moment of silence

The Mother spoke

"Let the world go on its way

while you choose your own way

I know what the world did to me

All the battle I fought,

wasn't enough.

At last here I'm now left with

Scars of Memories

and Bites of Pain."

"My Daughter,

Perhaps you can't walk wearing

a fancy dress down the streets

you won't be able to chat

freely with any other party.

Sometimes even your presence may annoy others.."

"that's just the way the world is.

It wont ever change.

Never try to change it

'Cause it will never change..."

The Younger looked into the eyes of her

heroine

and replied "No Amma! I won't

I will stand and fight for it.

Yes, I won't just give up.

I will troll the streets in shorts, skirts

I will hangout with all i want.

There will be no one to stop my limit.

My freedom will create a world where

Women are a legacy

If it isn't for me

It will be for the future sisters and daughters."

"May it be hard,

I will fight harder

no sitting with patience

Our Patience was the greatest

weakness we had

I will throw away a hood of unfairness

and rise with the flag of justice."

"Amma! Sleep well

Because tommorow the sun will shine brighter

Virgins will walk around town freely

Little girls will take the bus for school happily

and I will be asleep now

I have to fight back a nightmare .

Good Night Amma!

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Cordellia Novis

~Shine the best you can

when the time comes

your sunset will be beautiful~🖤

Lyrics and Article Writer

Thank you for following.

Love y'all.

Follow me on Twitter: @Seomin_Charu

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.