Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

No is a complete answer.

The first no.

By TheSpinstressPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
5
No is a complete answer.
Photo by Max Nguyen on Unsplash

My instincts scream danger, so I walk right in.

Colourblind myself - let the games begin.

My conscience protests but you silence the din,

until your mask slips and your lies wear thin.

I'm so used to fear I feel lonely without it

some offered me peace but I came unequipped.

You hear me say no and you disregard it;

bulldoze me and this mad girl's enchanted.

I keep you a secret, which leads to a lie

can't tell a soul my new reason to cry

but then I wake up and our end is nigh

I can't tell you 'don't', but I can say goodbye.

heartbreakCONTENT WARNING
5

About the Creator

TheSpinstress

New bio in progress :)

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 5 months ago

    Beautiful heartbraking poem!

  • "can't tell a soul my new reason to cry". Omgggg this line hit me so hard! Loved your poem!

  • Rowan Finley 6 months ago

    Wow, this is heartbreakingly accurate.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.