Poets logo

No Brotherly Love

By Candace WaltonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read

Who am I?

A black girl from philly

Forced to be tuff

But rather be pretty

Love getting fresh air

But can’t be a fool

The weather may be beautiful

But my city is cruel

I may go outside to witness blue skies

But I have to be careful

The violence really thrives

I can help a stranger

It’s nice to be kind

But I have to be aware

They may have other plans in mind

If I enjoy a park to relax and be lazy

I have to be home before dark

Because people are crazy

I may go for a run by a trail or a lake

But watch my surroundings the driving isn’t great

When I’m crossing a street

I pay attention to every scene

Because someone will run you over

Even if the lights aren’t green

If someone is giving me the right away

I have to move fast

Although someone’s being nice

It might not last

I love smelling the flowers,

so colorful and red

But also the sirens passing above my head

Lovely townhomes,

Inside so relaxing and quiet

But on the other side of the door

People are gearing up for riots

Although I understand

This life can be stressing

I’m only supporting the ones that are protesting

I get it they think they must attack

Before someone gets them for being black

Peace is better in a group or a herd

Let’s talk not fight just use our words

Time for a change

My city is in a state of emergency

Instead of people

This city needs surgery

All this hate is getting pretty old

But I somehow still manage to have a heart of gold

Now you know a little about my life

And the colors I see

But I just focus on the light

And becoming a better me

fact or fiction

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Candace WaltonWritten by Candace Walton

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.