Poets logo

No. 11

Windbreaker Buckets

By Melynda KlocPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
No. 11
Photo by Vishal Banik on Unsplash

I was baptized when I was young. I wore windbreaker pants and a t-shirt and I was painfully aware of my body. The dividing wall between the baptismal tank and the congregation was my relief. My mom planned a pool party and I ruined the surprise because my body is ugly. The baptism wasn’t so bad; at least I was wearing all of my clothes. What stands out the most is the walk back to the changing room behind the altar. I remember my windbreakers and the way they held water. I had two buckets tied to my ankles as I walked. Once there, I lifted the elastic band and the water gushed out like a bursting balloon. I wonder if anyone noticed my balloon ankles as I walked behind the tank. I wonder if anyone could hear the swish, swish, swoosh of my pants mixed with the buckets in motion.

fact or fiction

About the Creator

Melynda Kloc

Creating one-of-a-kind moments through immersive art and writing.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Melynda KlocWritten by Melynda Kloc

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.