Poets logo

Nightmares

By Emily Boman

By Emily BomanPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

There are times at night

When my overthinking mind

Gets the best of me

Spinning ensues while the moonlight

Shines through my window

Repeating ghosts of memories past

Come to me to haunt my dreams

Brow furrowing, yawning, fighting it

“Tired” is not something you feel when

You don’t feel alive anymore

It is simply a reflex

A force to be recognized and not

Acted upon

Sleep comes forcefully

Night sweats and attacks

Fighting sleep means prolonging terror

Like a malevolent movie reel

Over and over again

Dreams are not friends

They are omens laced into

My subconscious mind

Like rapists looking for prey

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.