Poets logo

Nightmare

A Poem

By AllisonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Dreams.

People say that you cannot die in dreams.

They say if you do, you die in real life.

Truth or myth?

I have no clue.

All I know is…

I remember it as if it were yesterday.

As if it just happened yesterday.

Last night.

So vivid.

So real.

It was like I was really there.

I felt everything.

Could smell every scent.

Hear every word.

I was there with my family.

My mom.

My aunt, Allison.

My grandma.

My brothers.

We were in the car.

Driving over a bridge.

We were in a family fight.

Everyone was attacking me.

Like I did something wrong, yet again.

That’s when it happened.

I had an impulse.

I acted.

So fast.

No one saw it coming.

Even me.

I opened the door to the car.

I looked down, and saw the height we were at.

We were on a high bridge.

It was like we were on a mountain.

At that moment, I moved.

I went to jump.

My body moved in slow motion.

It was like I could hardly move.

That’s when I felt my brother’s arm grab me.

I heard my mom yell…

“Allison, no! Don’t do it! It’s not worth it! We love you!”

Then, reality really kicked in.

It was like I, in my sleep state, broke through.

I rescued myself.

Snapped myself out of it.

I realized what was about to happen.

I questioned my actions.

I stopped myself.

I closed the door.

I woke up.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.