Poets logo

Nightly Visitor

My Creature in My Dreams

By Dan R FowlerPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read

A full moon's warm glowing fingers push their way into my room,

Bringing with it echoes of sorrow and shadows of gloom.

Upon my pillow, I lay dreaming,

When my nemesis into my room comes creeping.

Into my dream world, my fantasies’ construction,

Walking upright like a man with no obstruction.

Daggers for claws leaving scratches down the hall,

I remember in the hospital I slept in during the Fall.

Outside winds howled accompanied by torrents of rain,

Carrying cries of terror, screaming mercy, souls writhing in pain.

Its teeth proudly revealed as white as fine alabaster,

Reflect blood stains sustained in past battles mastered.

Steady and determined, it walked the dimly lit halls,

Listening to monitors and terminal blue code’s calls.

With a merciful angel’s intention, it lifted its back,

Hunching in preparation of the impending attack.

It never failed in its battles with the ailing,

It took them one by one, leaving none, no story telling.

Pushing and pulling its prey into the vents,

It took them to their resting place not leaving a scent.

Licking their faces as a dog would before eating its lunch,

It cleaned away the human scent before taking the first crunch.

Its intentions weren’t kind nor were intended to be,

For it had come for the dead and now was looking for me.

Once finishing its prey’s carcass of any flesh that was left,

It tossed it aside like an empty shell with skull cleft.

My fear kept me moving faster ahead,

Into my imaginary world as I lay upon my bed.

It was my nightly creature who always came to visit,

Awaiting a mistake, an error made explicit.

Craning for deliverance, some place for solitude,

I created an opening in the dreamworld’s interlude.

Through this escape opening I hurriedly scrambled,

To escape the monster’s teeth and claws that dangled.

He visits me some nights as he did the first,

Watching and listening with his unlimited thirst.

It will come for me as it has done before,

And there won’t be anything left of me but gore.

surreal poetry

About the Creator

Dan R Fowler

Dan R. Fowler. 71, writing is more than a hobby, it's a place for me to become anyone I choose to be, visit mystical scenes, or swim deep within my brain. e-book paperback, or audible. type dan r fowler on the search line. Amazon

.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Dan R FowlerWritten by Dan R Fowler

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.