Poets logo

Nightingale

Dark Poetry

By Grace HowlPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Nightingale
Photo by Jaime Dantas on Unsplash

The night has never been a safe space for me.

As most click off their lamps and settle down,

pouring their worries and stresses of the day into their pillows,

my mind lights up like New York City on a Saturday afternoon.

This is the time when my demons come out to play.

Torturing me with their vile tongues,

“You’ll never be good enough”, they laugh,

“You’re just like your father”, they scream.

They dance around my room in a fiery delight.

Cackling at my every wince,

two pin me down by the arms with the weight of their truth.

A third whispers my every anxiety into my ear with his hot breath,

While another laps at my tears

like a hound who hasn’t drank in days.

This goes on for hours,

a minute is every bit of sixty seconds.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Grace Howl

Young, inspired recent graduate of psychology and business management (May 2022) from Goucher College. Lifelong lover of writing and stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.