Poets logo

Night Moves

A Sonnet for Nyx, Goddess of Night

By D. J. ReddallPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
5

When the harsh, accusing blaze of day fades

And the soft, gentle shadows of night grow

Into the inky sea the rapt mind wades

And in it, basks in inspiration’s glow

Too bright and clinical is light of day

It leaves one vulnerable, flash blinded

To Nyx, queen of dark hours, we should pray

To let imagination be heeded

Lamentably loud is day’s hot tumult

The silken silence of night is needed

To incubate a beautiful result

When the fallow soil of mind is seeded

With night’s darkly delicious provender

Of inspiration, Nyx is the mother

Sonnet
5

About the Creator

D. J. Reddall

I write because my time is limited and my imagination is not.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    This was so hauntingly beautiful! I freaking loved this so much!

  • Hannah Moore5 months ago

    Yeah, but it only works if you make a note before morning....

  • L.C. Schäfer5 months ago

    That picture is stunning 😁 I feel like there's good advice in these lines 😁

  • Rachel Deeming5 months ago

    Do you get inspiration at night, D.J.? I have to admit that ideas come to me when I sleep. Great artwork in this one too.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.