Poets logo

Nice to See You

unforeseen greetings

By Shannon LoewenPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Nice to See You
Photo by Jessica Yap on Unsplash

Was nice to see you

A simple phrase, straightforward and clear

Something I’ve always wanted to hear

I’ve said it to you

And now, here

Somehow it hurts

*

What made you say this today?

And why does it carry so much?

*

I miss you

I’ve wanted to hear this so many times

So many times I didn’t

Instead I heard complaints and rudeness

Which I edited into attempts at telling me

You care

*

And now this simple phrase

I’m glad it was nice to see me

I hope you know it’s mutual

Was nice to see you too

*

~S.L.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Shannon Loewen

Hi there :) I use poetry as a processing tool and only recently began to share my works. Thank you for reading them <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.