Poets logo

NFL AFL and the SNB’s

(Sunday Night Blues)

By Jan PortugalPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
5
NFL AFL and the SNB’s
Photo by Chris Chow on Unsplash

Driving through the thick

San Fernando dusk

street lights poking holes

in the periwinkle din

I am reveling in freedom

grateful for my own company

the anger of abandon - subsiding

Waiting for the drive-in-movie to begin

I stop at Carl’s Jr. for a cheese drenched

baked potato and feel

this poem click and flow under

the speed of my Bic-Brio

in the next booth a lone man

looks up as a woman sits down

she lights a cigarette and blows

smoke through her words

” I hate to pack again so soon”

his stare blank and unconcerned

flickers to the beat of a

soul searching rock song

Waiting for the drive-in-movie to begin

My napkin filled with words my thoughts

still clicking I cross the parking lot

to Vons for a notebook to end this poem

standing in the express line with

two other fat ladies buying beer and

brownies. I wonder if they too are on

a lonely flight to obscurity

Waiting for the drive-in-movie to begin

The car radio blares - a talk show host

and a male caller mock about

the old ball and chain drain

you know how when you‘re married

you always have to do

what your spouse wants you to

as if football and hardware were

the end all to entertainment

I tune it out

open a beer

and turn on

the drive-in-movie





social commentary
5

About the Creator

Jan Portugal

I love the adventure writing takes me on. I enjoy the idea of sharing them with an audience. I hope you enjoy my visions too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.