Poets logo

New mother emerging - Postpartum blues

The dream vs reality

By Muma JoJoPublished 2 days ago 1 min read
My daughter and her Kelpie Sunny

When I dreamt of becoming a mother, the dream was a beautiful, soft and … perhaps an easier time?

Reality is that motherhood is brutal. A coming of age. It’s breaking you down and building you up.

New mother emerging. Fragile, yet the strongest you’ve ever been.

When I dreamt of birth, I dreamed of painful toil and a beautiful moment with my baby.

Reality is that for some women it’s not. Birth trauma is real. The pain and the shame. Why couldn’t I do it. All the time, all the preparations and it still broke me. Self love and forgiveness.

When I dreamt of the perfect relationship, it was blissful, no pain.

Reality is that men struggle too. Perhaps their own postpartum blues. Communication is hard but speaking is key. The key to the blissfullness pain free.

When reality came crashing in like a tsunami. I was left naked bare and struggling.

The dreams were not reality and the depth of my sinking ship had reached the titanic. At the bottom of the sea. Locked up and hidden for an eternity.

I lay there longing for the dreams to be true but they are dreams that lie down there in the deep blue.

Now don’t be dismayed I’m glad that I’m here, I love my baby and her daddy up there, sailing on the glassy sea. It seems effortless for them.

Down here in the doldrums, it’s cold with dispair. So lift your head up and try not to care. Swim to the top and start to tread.

That’s it you can breathe, with your head up there. It’s sink or swim. Pep talks in the morning, with black rings under eyes. Coffee today. You will be okay.

The reality of motherhood is sometimes just that, a dreamt up dream. It’s tough it’s hard. Your going to cry. Speak up muma.

The past. Postpartum blues.

Mental HealthFamilyTabooStream of ConsciousnessSecretsFamily

About the Creator

Muma JoJo

Poems from a deranged, sleep deprived muma. Trying to make sense of a world that seems to be falling through my fingers.

(Expressing thoughts in moments of dispair, it’s not always roses)

P.S I’m loving being a mum, I’m completely ok!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Dawnxisoul393art2 days ago

    The contrast between the dream and the harsh reality resonates with many mothers who have experienced the complexities of this journey, your words inspire resilience and offer solace to those navigating the doldrums of motherhood, thank you very much for sharing, love your works, hope to read more, subscribed.

Muma JoJoWritten by Muma JoJo

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.