Poets logo

New Lands

To travel my veins as if old roads, filled with love and joy as well as woe.

By Rosie J. SargentPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
14

VERSE ONE:

I wish I could sail and discover new lands,

Travel the lines on my palms - like tiny rivers in my hands.

Gaze upon the stars as they shine above and below,

Never settling always moving, for there’s somewhere else to go.

I want to see all the angles of the moon,

Discover new worlds in the corners of noisy rooms.

To travel my veins as if dusty old roads,

Filled with love and joy - as well as woe.

CHORUS:

Those were the days - they've all gone and changed,

I want to sail and discover new lands.

My heart cold from the sun,

A life unlived, unloved.

I want to sail and find new lands,

Those days are gone now I've got no plans.

VERSE TWO:

I want to feel the adventure deep in my soul,

Kiss in the rain and flee from the freezing cold.

What did it feel like to discover new land?

To the find whitest snow or the blackest of sands.

I wish I could find new colours and make new shades,

Like the gods creating new people out of old dirty clay.

Lay with the flowers in the cold winter sun,

And remain there until life has - once again begun.

CHROUS:

Those were the days - they've all gone and changed,

I want to sail and discover new lands.

My heart cold from the sun,

A life unlived, unloved.

I want to sail and find new lands,

Those days are gone now I've got no plans.

VERSE THREE:

I wish I could dance with wild creatures - and sing with banshees,

Live among my fingertips as if they were - swaying trees.

To see into the darkness of every hidden cave,

Sit with the bats and sleep during the busiest of days.

To knit silky spider webs and hang them like art,

And visit the gallery that is of my purple scars.

CHORUS:

Those were the days - they've all gone and changed,

I want to sail and discover new lands.

My heart cold from the sun,

A life unlived, unloved.

I want to sail and find new lands,

Those days are gone now I've got no plans.

OUTRO:

I want to be free and escape my cage, and -

Maybe live in a book on a folded page.

To discover new lands is only a lost dream -

to what once was, and what can now never be.

I want to sail and find new lands,

Those days are gone now I've got no plans.

EXTENDED:

I want to follow the bed sheet creases as if it were a map,

discover forgotten treasure and find a genie lamp.

To touch a candle flame without getting burnt

And glide off tall cliffs with no fear of getting hurt.

I want to climb the mountains and make them my throne -

And cook meals in ovens made out of stone.

To listen to the birds and hear what they say,

And love every moment of every single day.

Don’t forget to leave a heart and subscribe, and as always -

Stay safe, stay hopeful and stay blessed! :)

sad poetryperformance poetrynature poetry
14

About the Creator

Rosie J. Sargent

Hello, my lovelies! Welcome, I write everything from the very strange to the wonderful; daring and most certainly different. I am an avid coffee drinker and truth advocate.

Follow me on Twitter/X @rosiejsargent97

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Gina C.about a year ago

    This is so gorgeous, and I love how you made it like a song :)

  • This is wonderful, and a great challenge entry too

  • This is so beautiful!

  • Daniel Hooksabout a year ago

    Beautiful imagery. Evoked powerful emotions in me. Dream like and ethereal!

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    I love the dreamy feel and imagery in this. Very nice. Thank you for sharing it! :)

  • Colt Hendersonabout a year ago

    I agree with most of this. Loved it.

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Beautiful piece. Well done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.