Poets logo

Nevertheless

a poem

By Autumn EasleyPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Nevertheless
Photo by Adrien Olichon on Unsplash

It hurts to watch someone you love be torn apart.

The story is so deranged, I don't even know where to start.

And the worst part is that she is happy about it.

But, sharing milkshakes and in the same booth laughing, they sit

Not him and your best friend, but him and his awful ex.

Now, you can pretty much imagine what would happen next.

Your friend got upset and she began to see what she missed.

His “date”, he swears, is basically family, he calls her “lil sis”.

She began to scream and cry and finally came to seeing,

The truth for what it is, she could see the way he was being.

She knew he didn’t deserve her and she knew he was out of line,

So, she sent him a message and called to give her a piece of her mind.

We, her friends, stayed and will always be there for her,

But, later, she wanted us to leave and kept saying she was sure.

As we expressed concerns in a room smelling of laundry soap,

We folded clothes and we tried to figure out how she would cope.

So, we headed back upstairs and into her bedroom,

Where we fully expected to see her in sadness and gloom.

For when someone cheats and lies and yells,

You can no longer imagine the sounds of bells.

She was giggling and laughing and confessing her love.

Agreeing and taking his side because when push comes to shove,

She wants to be with him even if she can see what he’s doing,

Telling us we are wrong and it’s not our business, she’s brewing,

A recipe for disaster, the biggest mistake of her life.

How can she not tell that he is not worth this much strife?

When they’ve only been dating for only but two weeks,

Much more has happened than kisses on cheeks.

Fights and disagreements, so many ups and downs,

So many good smiles, but way many more frowns.

How can she let herself be taken advantage of?

Her kindness and purity, it is that of a dove,

But he’s taking the bird and he’s clipping it wings,

And she lets him do it because it's to him that she clings.

She thinks he is right and that she is mistaken.

Her individuality he has officially taken.

She can no longer simply think for herself.

She has put her logic high on the top shelf,

Where she knows she will no longer ever be tempted.

His inexcusable actions, she has somehow exempted.

How can you sit back and let someone treat you like that?

Treating you as if you are some glorified door mat.

Something he steps all over, she doesn’t mind the mud,

As long as she feels important, fake happiness begins to flood.

How can you be happy with someone who treats you that way?

Maybe it's because he’s her first love and he’s in her head every day.

So after he wins and she picks his side,

I tell her I am here for her, but I have to decide,

That I don’t want to watch this happen anymore.

When I know that she’s lost, she can’t even see the shore,

But the shore is where I stand and I can see things for what they are.

I promise I will be here for her to help her cleanse her new scar,

That I know he will leave on her heart, for he has done too much.

Too much to forgive, so onto reality I clutch,

But for now, I am done trying and I am done hearing.

Every single word she says feels like a burn, it is searing.

“It’s my business, stop caring” she says and she says.

“Fine”, so here I stand, not speaking, nevertheless.

sad poetryslam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Autumn Easley

Writing has always been therapeutic to me. Poetry helps me organize my thoughts and feelings and writing fiction has kept me sane when the real world feels like it's crumbling down. Thank you to anyone who supports my writing. <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.