Poets logo

Never the Chosen One

second choice

By NanashPublished about a month ago 1 min read
5
Never the Chosen One
Photo by Josue Michel on Unsplash

I was never the chosen one.

I've often found myself in the shadows,

the second choice,

the one who arrives too late,

or the one whom they quietly wish they had met earlier.

It's as if destiny has a peculiar sense of timing,

Weaving its threads in a way that keeps me just out of reach of the forefront.

I've heard the words, "Your husband will be lucky to have you," spoken in hushed tones

As if my worth is a promise for a future yet to come.

And while it's meant as a compliment,

It leaves me wondering why I couldn't be the one for you right now.

Why am I always the one waiting in the wings, while others step into the spotlight of your affection?

......Unfortunately, some of us never get to be the first option but

inspirationallove poems
5

About the Creator

Nanash

The scars that married my body left bruises so deep that the mind is constantly wandering to derive tranquility. In my unique way, I take you along a journey into the echoes from my mind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Omgggg this was so poignant, emotional and extremely relatable. I'm so sorry you feel this way too 🥺 Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.