Poets logo

Never Rests

A poem about the broken mind

By Abigail SulfridgePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

So, you want me to share with you

All my dirty little truths?

Once I say it

You’ll never forget it

Forever imprinted in your brain

Only to make your face rain

Don’t cry for me

For I don’t even cry for me

There’s a nightmare inside my head

It never rests

Suppressed

But never rests

Even the pills I ingest

Never let me rest

I’m gonna go scream now

For that is how I stay sane

In my little bitty town of Boise

People think they know me

But they don’t really know me

Bipolar screams echo in my head

The same ones I heard in the luny bin

My love that made me crazy

Gone forever

Society thinks they know me

Thinks they can hold me

But I fight back

I fight till all my blood is spilled

I go to school

I go to work

I do nothing of importance

I act on a stage

The stage of life

Say the lines

Say the words they want to hear

My doctor says I’m luny

So, I guess they can say it too

Unworthy of their presence

As if they are not broken too

No

They are more broken then me

If they think I am broken

But they are perfect

Wait till their own self is broken

Then I can laugh too

They don’t own me

No one owns me

I’m almost seventeen

No one owns me

I do what I want

And no one stops me

I hold all the cards

There’s a nightmare inside my head

It never rests

Suppressed

But never rests

Even the pills I ingest

Never let me rest

Despite doctor’s orders

They never let me rest

Suppressed

But never rests

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Abigail Sulfridge

I am from Boise, Idaho. I am a Medtech and am going to college to be a teacher. Writing and acting have always been passions of mine and I'm glad I get to pursue them here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.