Poets logo

Never Known

Love, In Passing

By Daniel SpeirsPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

A chance look in your direction

An infinite second

As your eyes meet mine

On the street, the bus, the stairs

A slight smile?

Almost unnoticeable

In the brief lifetime

That we spend here, together

Your hair,

Blonde, brown, gray,

Your eyes,

Blue, brown, green

My heartbeat becomes irrational

I feel as if

I have entered an exam

For a subject I did not study

I am being tested on something

That I will never know

I see our life before us

A look, a smile, a word,

Years of love and happiness

Born from this single second of unity.

I know I will never know you

But, despite the concentrated heartbreak,

I know that I could never love you

As much as I have in this single second.

You’re gone now, but

You were never really here.

Despite this,

Without even knowing it

You made my world

Forever brighter.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Daniel Speirs

I'm here to try out different writing genres and styles!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.