Poets logo

Never Knew Ya

To the tune of Hallelujah sung by Rufus Wainwright

By David E. PerryPublished 11 months ago Updated 10 months ago 2 min read
2
Never Knew Ya
Photo by Rodrigo Rodriguez on Unsplash

Now I’ve heard there was a parable

That Jesus told, one that all should know.

But you don’t really read the bible, do you?

Recorded at the 23rd

The 7th chapter, I have heard

Those on the left the lord said, “I never knew you”

Never Knew Ya, Never Knew Ya

Never Knew Ya, Never Knew Ya

They called the lord, they called him twice

They expelled demons, that was nice.

But you know that he wouldn’t buy it, Don’t you.

The works they did, their prophecy

He called it all a rotten tree

The fruit they bear will tell what’s really in you

Never Knew Ya, Never Knew Ya

Never Knew Ya, Never Knew Ya

Ten virgins came and five were wise

The oil they had they surely prized

The fools they begged “give us some oil please, would ya”

But there would not be quite enough

They left to go and buy more stuff

The door closed the bridegroom said, “I don’t know you”

Never Knew Ya, Never Knew Ya

Never Knew Ya, Never Knew Ya

Here’s another I have to tell

Peter said he would never fail

The lord told Peter “this would happen to you

Before I am to give my life

You would by then disowned me thrice

Saying to me I really never knew you.”

Never Knew Ya, Never Knew Ya

Never Knew Ya, Never Knew Ya

Three times you said I do not know

You even swore to let it show

And the lord looked down and he stared right at you

Your tears so strong they flood the town

You faith was weak, you let him down

But he would soon be there and he’d upbuild you

Because he knew ya, Because he knew ya

Because he knew ya, Because he knew ya

Now That I’ve come down to the end

The lord do know that we all sin

He tell us he is willing to forgive you

If the true God we come to know

And his son who our lives we owe

Then He would never say “I never knew ya”

Never Knew Ya, Never Knew Ya

Never Knew Ya, Never Knew Ya

Never Knew Ya, Never Knew Ya

Never Knew Ya, Never Knew Ya

Never Knew Ya, Never Knew Ya

Never Knew Ya, Never Knew Ya

inspirational
2

About the Creator

David E. Perry

Writing gives me the power to create my own worlds. I'm in control of the universe of my design. My word is law. Would you like to know the first I ever wrote? Read Sandy:

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.