Poets logo

Never Have I Ever

Mikeydred's May 2023 Poetic Challenge In The Vocal Social Society- Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
7

This is a series of short sonnets based on suggestions by Vocal friends in the Vocal Social Society. I will include a suitable video as well.

The challenge is:

“Give me a subject and five words and I will try and create a sonnet”.

This is from Will McGhee:

Subject: Never Have I Ever

Words: Indian, High School, Teenager, Hinduism, Netflix

🎥📽️✒️📺📝📽️🎥

You Switch On Netflix, It Sets The Scene

For This American/Indian Teen

High School Teenager, Wants To Be Cool

Parents Say She Must Focus On School

📺

Can't Be Cool If You Got Religion

You Must Embrace Your Hinduism

When You Are Special You Find A Way

To Be The High School Dish Of The Day

📺

Every Day Can Be So Hard For You

But Your School Friends Think You're Cool, That's True

You Have A Smile That Lights Up The Room

But Life Can Be Fun, And Devi's Cool

📺

Go On, Switch On Your Television

Watch "Never Have I Ever", It's Fun

🎥📽️✒️📺📝📽️🎥

performance poetrysocial commentary
7

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.1m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ Thrds

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsMariannDharCathyJudey

DawnMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantor6 months ago

    Dear Mr. Mikey - I've tried to be supportive of you and even did a few 'Shout-Outs' on your behalf as being so 'responsive' for all of the Youngins. Yes, we are on different 'pages' - I'm not into promos or challenges, just a simple old fashion StoryTeller, nothing more, so I see why you never jump into the 'Senior' pond. I'll *unsubscribe for now and wish you only the best. Jay Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Village Community -

  • Mikeydred!!!!! I can’t believe what you did with this! Incredible, bravo mate

  • Very good. But did you forget to make "Never Have I Ever" bold, or was it by intent?

  • Pauline Fountain10 months ago

    Hi Mike. I thoroughly enjoyed. A subject and 5 words to create a Sonnet! It’s wonderful to see how you collaborate with other authors to brainstorm ideas. And my sincere thanks for linking me to The invisible Writer. I read his fiction ‘Chapter 1’ of ‘The Redeemer’ and in doing so you set me on a pathway to an unexpected gift. You may like to read my comment there. Pauline 🌸

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.