Poets logo

Never Be

Feeling the loss of a loved one.

By Toni ScalesPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

the first time I saw you

I knew I’d love you forever

because I knew I’d loved you before

I was certain you’d haunt my days

and swallow my nights

you once seemed to love me back

but you grew cruel

in words and actions

still the only thing that has ever

felt right in this life

was being with you

you made the me without you

intolerable

when before the me alone

had been bearable

once you sat playing guitar

I held onto you from behind

as if you were saving my life

you probably weren't there with me at all

but I couldn't move

couldn't stop touching

feeling you

I’d never known

such burning perfection

and completion

I yearned to cry in your absence

because in some way

it brought you closer to me

decades have passed

yet you still haunt my dreams

as if you hold my soul-strings

in your hands

sometimes I sit

and realize you are still breathing

and I shiver

and live for the day

you lead me back home

into the safety and rightness

of your body

your soul

forever

please

my sweet love

come back to me

love poems
1

About the Creator

Toni Scales

Insta: toni_scales2

Hi, I'm Toni. I'm a published poet and have ten years' experience in ghostwriting erotic romance novels. My longest employment was in funeral service.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.