Poets logo

~Never Asked!~

This song was from way back in my 20's also, it will be on the album Blue Cries probably and of course it is part of the Melodies of Israel Box Set! Moment's we can all relate too, like when someone projects there's more between you then there really is and you have to break it to them, not only are they wrong, but that you in fact don't even like them much or consider them a friend at all! And poof now you have a song on how to break it too them... and not so gently at that at all! lol

By Jennifer CooleyPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
~Never Asked!~
Photo by Sanchez Amezcua on Unsplash

~Never Asked~

1st verse:

If You only understood me better

If you only had a clue,

Less would need to be said to you..

If I could only get this through!!!

It MAY be true,

I never intended to hurt you,

but you over looked some things

that with me, you should never do.

YOU said YOU forgive me,

BUT I NEVER asked for that

From YOU!

Chorus:

That is why You'll never be near me,

That is why You'll never get through.

That is why I'll never reveal me,

"NO" You'll never know just who I am.

verse 2:

You claim to have read,

More of those kinds of books then me,

But if that were at all true,

You wouldn't say HALF of the things that you do!

And I wouldn't DIS YA

the way that I do!

I hate to disappoint you,

REALLY I DO,

But I know what I'm talking about,

from all that I've read.

(Mini chorus)

You said you forgive me,

BUT I NEVER asked for that from you!

Chorus:

That is why You'll never be near me

That is why You'll never get through.

That is why I'll never reveal me,

"NO" you'll never know just who I am!

verse 3:

You seem to have forgotten,

that over the Yrs

I've done a few things more,

then your words Can EVER Compare too.

I've been to more then one place or two

and over the yrs,

I've met A HELL of A LOT

More people then you!

I've lived through some shit,

AND SEEN A LOT TOO.

(mini chorus)

So I hate to disappoint you

REALLY I do,

But YOU OVERLOOKED a thing or two,

and that with me is something

you just shouldn't do!

verse 4:

So thanks for TRYING to tell me A thing or two,

BUT It's ME YOU really aughta have been listening too!

It was Many yrs ago, That I easily PASSED through you,

But YOU just NEVER had a clue!

Chorus:

And..

That is why You'll never be near me

That is why you'll never get through.

That is why I'll never Reveal Me,

"No" You'll never know JUST who I am.

If You only understood me better,

Then you might have, just had a clue,

and less words would have needed to be said

Trying to get this through to you!!

It may be true,

I never intended to hurt you,

BUT you over looked some things

and that with me, is something

YOU should never do.

You said, "You forgive me"

But I never asked for that

From YOU!

The End!

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jennifer Cooley

I've been writing as long as I could hold a crayon! Remember writing my first story like it was yesterday at 5. I remember the details of the day, location, time, excitement & where the story was preserved for all time! Lots Born From That!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.