Poets logo

Neurodivergent

By Miranda Margaret Monahan

By Miranda MonahanPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
Like
Neurodivergent
Photo by Google DeepMind on Unsplash

I always knew I was different, maybe even weird.

I never thought I was dumb.

I always felt weirdly smart.

I was diagnosed with a non-verbal learning disability at the age of eight, nearly nine years old. I can speak, quite well actually. I have a hard time understanding mathematical concepts, body language, verbal tones and sarcasm.

For several years. I was forced to do below-grade-level math until I outgrew that.

I did well in school.

I was accepted to my dream journalism program, at St. Clair College, in Windsor, Ontario, Canada.

To attend college and be accommodated, I had to be retested for a learning disability. I strongly disliked having to do this. No, I hated this testing, but you have to do what you have to do.

So, I did the testing. I was 17, nearly 18 years of age at this point. My results were similar to what they were when I was a child. Except this was more detailed. There were some different pieces of information that were on my original report but were redacted.

These new pieces that I was just learning about were that I am autistic, I have ADHD, anxiety and depression.

Suddenly, everything makes sense and I am not as weird as I thought.

I am now 24, 25 in June, I chose to be unmedicated for anxiety, depression or ADHD. I have moments when I feel very sad or anxious and I have moments where I cannot focus. Online resources have been helpful too. I have a great job that provides a lot of support too.

Stream of Consciousnessslam poetrylist
Like

About the Creator

Miranda Monahan

Social Media and Community Manager

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.