Poets logo

Nest Mates

Different Wings, but one Family Tree

By Thavien YliasterPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
Nest Mates
Photo by Bluerug on Unsplash

Oh Canary

So Young and Brave

When we came home

To the Cage

By Deleece Cook on Unsplash

You Welcomed me with open arms

And Open Wings

A Voice so Splendid

Did You sing

Though I don't have feathers

Since my scales grew in

My wings of leather

Gusted clouds within

My heat and passion

You admire

My voice

It roars

Like a raging Fire

By Taylor Heery on Unsplash

The home I thought

Was once a cage

We've all grown differently

And Come of Age

Mom and Dad

Are all so glad

Of the Success

From mistakes we made

I'm still haunted

From the times I hurt You

Yet You love me

And hold me dear

We fight for each other

Whether we're far or near

Our hearts connected

Know when the other's in pain

We've matured and grown

In more than just our brains

Though m cerebral cortex

At times is a vortex

Often lost in thought

More oft' than nought

Yet, You remind me of our

Past we lived

And the pain to me

That You also gived

With talons so sharp,

I grew my hide

From false songs

You made me hide

Your pecking beak

Wasn't always kind

Yet, we apologize

To each other

And become wise

Yet, all the hurt

still comes and goes

But we don't gift pain

As we're not our foes

Cry on my shoulder

Catch me in my woes

As we nestle in the nest

We respect how much we've grown

So when I roar

You too do sing

Whether from home

We come or go

In each other's hearts we remain

Wherever

Whenever

We take wing

Stream of Consciousnesssad poetryperformance poetrylove poemsheartbreakGratitudeFriendshipFamily

About the Creator

Thavien Yliaster

Thank You for stopping by. Please, make yourself comfortable. I'm a novice poet, fiction writer, and dream journalist.

Instagram

YouTube

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    Lots of emotion in this. Kids can be so cruel to each other. That you still love each other as adults is the important stuff. This is a wonderful piece. I particularly liked these lines. "The home I thought Was once a cage We've all grown differently And Come of Age Mom and Dad Are all so glad Of the Success From mistakes we made."

  • This is like a sequel to your poem, "Broken Songbird". So glad you guys managed to talk it out 🥰

Thavien YliasterWritten by Thavien Yliaster

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.