Poets logo

Neon Pink / Stark White

Life / Dreams

By Lauren StonesPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

In my dreams, I am angry

My arms are lashing out

My hands outstretched to choke

My voice is filled with clout

In my dreams, I am strong

I have pride and self-esteem

I will fight for what I want

I will flail and kick and scream

In my dreams, I see them

Those who laugh when I'm not there

In my dreams, I cry

In life, I do not care

In life, it's full of neon pink

The broken sound of a numbing beat

I'm passed around like cherry pie

But really, I'm a piece of meat

In my dreams, a stark white

Water runs over stepping stones

In life, I drown in other people

In my dreams, I am alone

I compare both of my lives at dawn

And every morning I see

Although both places have their merit

In neither do I want to be.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Lauren Stones

Lives in London, dances a lot, acts and sings sometimes, writes and draws on occasion, generally just posts witty statuses and argues with right-wingers on social media.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.