Poets logo

Nature/

Nurture

By Sawyer ScottPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1

Meet me

where the wildflowers mourn

over the unmarked grave

of icebound epochs.

Someone must encourage the saplings,

judge the race between hummingbird and dragonfly

and praise the toil of the honeybee,

and I feel there is no one better suited

to the task than I.

Yet someone must also trim the needles

of my nostalgia,

and wipe the dew drops from my cheek

afore they freeze,

and I feel there is no one better suited

to that task, than you.

So, meet me;

where the wildflowers will remind us

to revel

in the futility of eternity.

nature poetry
1

About the Creator

Sawyer Scott

If I never pen great tales, I'll settle for being poetry.

Then in living my own life, I'll be writing my own eulogy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.