Poets logo

Native American Elders

A palindrome on Wisdom

By Denise E LindquistPublished 6 months ago β€’ Updated 6 months ago β€’ 1 min read
6
Native American Elders
Photo by Andreas Wagner on Unsplash

Rules for writing palindrome poetry:

You must use the same words in the first half of the poem as the second half, but Reverse the order for the second half, and Use a word in the middle as a bridge from the first half to the second half of the poem.

At first, the simplicity of the rules made me feel like this would be easy enough to do, but I ran into problems almost immediately. For instance, you can't start the poem with the word "the" unless you plan to end the poem on the word "the." And just because something makes sense in the first half doesn't guarantee it'll pass the same test on the way back. Writers Digest, Robert Brewer

My attempt at a palindrome poem:

"Elders"

Native American

of beauty and spirit

storytellers

teaching lessons

of seven grandfathers

Wisdom

grandfathers seven

of lessons teaching

storytellers

spirit and beauty

of American Natives

inspirationallove poems
6

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    This was a perfectly executed palindrome! I've written one and it was soooo difficult to make it make sense, lol. Loved your poem!

  • Mackenzie Davis6 months ago

    Ooh! I think you succeeded with flying colors! This is a very interesting form…

  • Manisha Dhalani6 months ago

    I can imagine it's tough to write a palindrome, but this poem was well written and nice.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.