Poets logo

Nameless, Faceless

A rambling poem about change

By Silver Serpent BooksPublished about a month ago 1 min read
Nameless, Faceless
Photo by Sean on Unsplash

I don't know my name.

I don't know who I have become in the rain

Of another blazing, hot summer day

Where there is no sun but heat and miles and miles of gray.

.

I don't know my name but didn't I used to?

When my fingers were cold and my lips were blue,

I am certain that I knew exactly who

Was piloting this misshapen ship through this catch-22.

.

It's all gone to shit,

And that's the joke, isn't it?

.

The letters of my name unravelled into strings and then rope,

Frayed around the edges, a clear reminder of the death of hope.

Entropy seizes us all and it has gotten me too

Because I can't remember my name, I haven't got a clue.

.

performance poetryslam poetrysad poetry

About the Creator

Silver Serpent Books

Writer. Interested in all the rocks people have forgotten to turn over. There are whole worlds under there, you know. Dark ones too, even better.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • D.K. Shepardabout a month ago

    Really appreciated the imagery of the name unraveling and devolving into disorder. Felt like I could visualize that so clearly! Well done, Silver!

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    I loved how intense this was. Well done!

  • Margaret Brennanabout a month ago

    that's so relatable. Often I have felt so lost and look inside to find me again.

  • Catsidheabout a month ago

    Love the flow of this one, so poignant! Well done!

  • angela hepworthabout a month ago

    You encompass feelings of lostness so well here, change can sure be a scary thing. Loved it!

Silver Serpent BooksWritten by Silver Serpent Books

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.