Poets logo

Naked Skin

Poetry

By Rowen MotleyPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

I shall not be apologetic

For you've objectified me

Before you got to know me

With piercing eyes

Undressing my flaws

You've observing my skin

And the nakedness in which

My thighs and breast

Move making me feel

Uncomfortable to just smile

You haven't noticed

that yet have you?

You call my body's figure a gift from

The gods but why does it feel

Like a curse; abuse, abuse you've

Abused my skin for your own

Gain to satisfy your demons

You like my hair this way

Not natural cause it fits

In with your societal

Norms

This is my naked skin

On display for you, and you

Don't seem to be pleased by

My curly African hair you

Call uncivilized

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.