Poets logo

Nacho Snack

It's Mine

By Meagan DionPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
8
Nacho Snack
Photo by Louis Hansel on Unsplash

Three o'clock

School bus exhaust

Cool metal key in hand

Freedom in my heart

Open the door

All alone

Tranquility

Free to do what I want

Open the fridge

Oh the possibilities

But one is louder than the rest

It's not rocket science

or gourmet

It's nacho snack

It's mine

And I make it myself

Unzip the Shredded cheese

Pop the crinkly bag

A handful of salty corn chips

Next

Toss in a bowl

Microwave for

thirty seconds flat

It's not rocket science

Or gourmet

It's Nacho snack

It's mine

And I made it myself

Steamy gooey pools of cheese

Stretch it to my chin

'Till it's really thin

Take a bite

Just right

But only for a bit

Plop in front of the TV

Tommy Pickles, Reptar and friends

It's not rocket Science

Or gourmet

It's nacho snack

It's mine

And I made it myself

Five minutes in

Now rock hard cheese

But I don't care

I'm still pleased

Chisel it from the bowl

Lick my fingertips clean

It's not rocket science

Or gourmet

It's nacho snack

It's mine

And I made it myself

Free Verse
8

About the Creator

Meagan Dion

My life is a little crazy. Four kids, homeschool, write, create and coffee. Coffee is a verb. Do you coffee? I aspire to blow glass and finish / publish my novel. I would like to have an impact. Also, coffee.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Silver Serpent Books2 months ago

    Great poem! This feels so happy. And now I want nachos!

  • I love lots of snacks though I shouldn't , great challenge entry

  • Andrea Corwin 2 months ago

    This is perfect! I am eating those nachos right now! It is perfect and exactly how it goes when making them and eating them. Loved this poem!

  • Tommy Pickles & Reptar--we always loved watching Rugrats! But when I was growing up it was a can of Ro-Tel mixed into a loaf of Velveeta melted in the microwave. It didn't get hard, constantly dippable, & nicely spicey.

  • I want nachos!!! ♥️♥️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.