Poets logo

NaNoWriMo Starts Today!

National Novel Writing Month!

By Denise E LindquistPublished 7 months ago Updated 7 months ago 1 min read
9
NaNoWriMo Starts Today!
Photo by Mona Eendra on Unsplash

Two Years Ago I Wrote The Following, Except For A Few Minor Changes:

NaNoWriMo is for me and many mo

50,000-word count in one month

25,000 is the number for midmonth.

It takes dedication to write enough

I think you have to be tough,

it is rough

each day to make it to that goal.

~

I am so close today and my soul

says does it make sense, is it my focal

I decided to write a poem a day only for vocal

I could not write 600 words plus everyday

and hey, I did alright today

and tomorrow I will do okay.

~

Vocal is local

and has many benefits that Vocal!

And I like the Facebook groups

it is more like troups,

that support the writing together

never leaving a man behind, whether

they say something they should not

or write something that is rot

They support each other, alot!

~

My question is will I have a book

when I finish the NaNoWriMo hook?

Some say

nay, nay,

others say, in a month or so you will wish

it will be time to edit and finish.

NaNoWriMo gives dedication to writing every day

If you don't have it already from Vocal today!

~

My NaNoWriMo adventure starts this Wednesday,

on November first. My writing started some time ago.

Some of you know.

I have been writing shorts on aging.

I think this is a good thing for me to write about as I am sageing

Not sagging, saging, or smudging.

You know a wise one. I am getting older and wiser.

Besides getting older, greyer and smartassier.

Hey that is a great idea for the challenge assier?

Time to work on my project before I become even sassier!

performance poetryhumorexcerpts
9

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran7 months ago

    All the best to you! Don't put too much pressure on yourself and always have enough rest!

  • Heather Hubler7 months ago

    Loved this and hope you do what makes you happy, whether that's writing a novel, writing for Vocal or both!! I signed up this year for the first time :)

  • Paul Stewart7 months ago

    Love this...I also started today...first time doing NaNoWriMo - hope it goes well for you! Love your poem!

  • StoryholicFinds7 months ago

    ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.