Poets logo

Mystery Girl

a poem

By Kay HusnickPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
5
Mystery Girl
Photo by Mads Schmidt Rasmussen on Unsplash

Can I be your mystery girl?

Aloof and unpredictable, but somehow also kind

just enough to keep you interested

keep you wanting more

until you're begging me to give you something, anything,

any kind of sign about what I like

or who I am or why I chose you

and how long is that lasting anyway?

I bet I could keep it up a while

drop crumbs for you to pounce on then change the subject

you don't get follow-up questions

my attention shifts too quickly,

and I am not above making excuses if the conversation gets too deep.

Can't we play a game where I make all the rules?

Rule #1: You give me all of you.

Rule #2: I decide exactly how much of me you see.

It could be fun

we'll call it 'Mystery Girl'

Free Versefact or fiction
5

About the Creator

Kay Husnick

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock2 months ago

    Why not? I'm living with one right now. What's one more, lol?

  • I've always loved being mysterious hehehe. Loved your poem!

  • Intriguing! Always keep them wanting for more, I say ;)

  • Angel Adagio2 months ago

    I love it! Definitely the vibe I relate to! Keep them guessing and wanting more.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.