Poets logo

Mysterious and Unknown

An Epistolary

By Rebecca A Hyde GonzalesPublished 12 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
3
Mysterious and Unknown
Photo by NASA on Unsplash

Dear Mysterious and Unknown,

I wake before Sun’s gaze reaches this valley - I lay waiting for the cock to crow - Herald announcing the coming of a new day. Earth takes in a deep breath as Sun stretches her arms high into the sky and then settles just as her rays, like fingers, wrap around the ridges of the eastern mountain range.

I look towards the east and watch her rise from beneath Twilight’s covers embroidered with rolling hills, lush prairies, winding rivers, and streams. The roots of the mountains stretch towards the core seeking the waters of life, ready to spring forth eternal fountains. Wellsprings of ancient wisdom and forgotten ways.

I know of the daily rhythms of rising Sun and setting Moon and have watched Sun gracefully dance with her partner on selenelion before Moon lays to rest beneath the cooling blankets of the western sea. His silver head bobs with each rising wave until he sinks into Daylight’s sleep. Unknown are the dreams he keeps. His desires are a mystery to me and to all that walk upon distant shores.

I know, my dear Mysterious, that you are out there waiting for me. Your partner, Unknown, beckons me. I know not where to find you. No cartographer has mapped the land in which you reside. And yet, I hear you, like I hear the siren's song at the changing of the guard when Sun follows her lover to the sea, diving into its depths, fracturing light - a flash of brilliance stretched across the sky.

Silence, the prelude for Evening Star, broken by the distant cry of an eagle. The hoot of an owl and the sleepy coo of a dove welcome each trailing star until the sky is full and Milky Way is burning bright. The constellations point to distant worlds. I wonder if it is there that you have made your home. So I search the night sky for a path to guide me. Yet you remain hidden, mysterious, and unknown.

Longing to find you,

Your Ever Faithful

nature poetrylove poems
3

About the Creator

Rebecca A Hyde Gonzales

I started writing when I was about eight years old. I love to read and I also love to create. As a writer and an artist, I want to share the things that I have learned and experienced. Genres: Fiction, non-fiction, poetry, and history.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carroll11 months ago

    Beautiful ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.