Poets logo

Myself Unto You

A poem about love, vulnerability, and accepting a painful past.

By Curtis WoodcockPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo Credit zhefiria on Flickr

I came to notice a tiny scar on the inside of your thigh

A freckle of the past, waiting to tell its story

I listened closely, secrets carousing through the canal

A creature after my own heart, how beautiful

Uncontrollable urge, giving in

I kissed the rigid smooth reminder

A tiny, fearful moan escapes

I can't take that chance again

Craving the secrets you're scared to show

Placing my ear gently down

The symphonic journey continues to serenade

Tears roll down, creeping closer to the upturned lip

This pot of gold, worth more than anything

The beauty you hide is so intoxicating

I need you

A gentle kiss escapes me again

Help myself, I cannot

Paused, waiting for the sounds of waking

None rang out

Lips quivering, fire running through my veins

I ache for more of your hidden soul

Silhouettes passed through my mind

Painting the pictures of your life

That smile, where had it gone?

Never before seeing it, I wondered how it could have been taken

So strong, so unshakable

Shivers running through me, I could love you forever

This scar, unlocking your defenses

Sharing my heart with you, showing intentions true

Ecstasy parading through us

Painting my own memories

Colouring the canvas internal

Hidden treasures displaced across the threshold

Trading yours for mine

No more secrets, everything without words told

Laying in the embrace

Our true eyes speak, no more barricades set

Slipping off to sleep

Breathlessly spoken

I love you

love poemsperformance poetryinspirational
Like

About the Creator

Curtis Woodcock

Adhd diagnosed individual squandering all of his potential due to low dopamine and the never-ending chase for it. Working on understanding my own bullshit.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.