Poets logo

My Worst Kept Secret

My Hidden Truth

By Poppy Published 2 years ago Updated 7 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - October 2022
28

I see a man

Brush a woman's

Hair behind her ear

With featherlight affection

And my chest tightens

I swear I don’t love you

I just crave the feeling

Of your skin on mine

I dream of you

Calling me yours

And wake up reaching

For you with empty hands

And quivering limbs

I promise I don’t love you

I just want you as desperately

As an addict needs

His next needle

I drown in daydreams

And lament in lies

I don’t love you

I don’t love you

I swear I don’t love you

I’m screaming but

Hiding a wound doesn’t

Stop it from bleeding and

Silencing the sea doesn’t

Stop the sirens’ singing

The truth will set you free, they say

So this is it, my worst kept secret:

I love you.

I don’t know what

To do with my hands

Or what words to

Stitch together

Or how to stay

Away from you

All I know is that

No denial or lies

Or promises are

Enough to change

The truth that

I am in love with you

And saying it out loud

And writing it on paper

Is not enough to

Set me free

❀❀❀❀❀

If you enjoyed this poem please check out the one below:

heartbreaklove poemssad poetry
28

About the Creator

Poppy

‘Wasted Love' available to purchase here in paperback and eBook format.

Find me on:

Instagram. Facebook. Tiktok. Pinterest. Twitter. Medium. Patreon.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Georgia Dimitriousabout a year ago

    That was awesome!!!

  • Gang Du AI2 years ago

    I love your poetry and I want to give you credit for it.

  • Penny2 years ago

    Wonderful

  • Been there, this resonates and it's beautifully written!

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    I felt the desperation in this! Wonderful writing, well done :)

  • Kendall Defoe 2 years ago

    Dreams clashing with reality...nice work... 😉

  • Amy Writes2 years ago

    Wow! This was so good. It really captured what so much of us have felt. Really well done!!

  • Rebecca Ridsdale2 years ago

    The pain of love >>>

  • Brenton F2 years ago

    a beautiful and elegant homage to all that our hearts hope for!

  • True

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.