Poets logo

My virtue is choice

(---)

By SalAmaNdeRPublished 5 months ago 2 min read
Top Story - January 2024
13
This is page 2 of my poem. It's the original final copy.

It comes and goes... like the "yes" and "no's"

Keep asking questions, without answers

My ambivalent nature, a gift and a curse

Always torn between one or the other

Two sides to a situation

A matter of perception

One makes sense, the other does not

Trust and faith, aren't the same

YET THEY ARE...

It's hard to avoid getting caught

In the confusing delusion

It's all an illusion

But what is reality anyway?

What we see? What we hear?

sometimes it's unclear...

Things we need to accept everyday

They come and go, the "yes" and the "no"

Ask myself questions without answers

This gift that I have... Is it a curse?

Should I be torn between one or the other?

The twists and turns

The things I've burned

Did it all happen for a reason?

If I take what I've learned

Maybe then, in return

I could figure out my course of action

If all I do is wait

And always procrastinate

I'll never feel like I'm moving

Don't know if I can handle

This little gamble

WILL IT WORK?

Or am I just going to end up losing?

As I progress, my "no's" turn to "yes"

Ask the right questions, get my answers

This gift that I have, I know is no curse

I will decide on one or the other

IT'S HARDer TO LOVE, than it is to hate

IT'S EASYer TO GIVE UP, than it is to have faith

NO NEED to WONDER what I SHOULD BELIEVE in

THE ANSWER was ALWAYS IN FRONT of my eyes

Still CAN'T BELIEVE it was there THE WHOLE TIME.

I won't be STAYin'... BUT I won't BE LEAVin'

They came and went, these thoughts in my head

I found the answers to my questions

This gift that I have, was never a curse

Now I have no objections...

TODAY, MY VIRTUE IS CHOICE.

*** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** ***

My heart pounds, it wants out... of my chest. I can't think, I can't breathe... Forget the rest, I'm obsessed ... All I hear is her voice. It's hard to make a choice... Between patiently waiting for "everything", or moving on. And getting nothing from her, I never... was the one to be selfish. Always thought about others, I WISH... I wish I could think about myself for a change... I FEEL SO LOST... THIS FEELS SO STRANGE...

*** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** ***

Prose
13

About the Creator

SalAmaNdeR

Hello : ,

I'm just hoping to find a place to share my thoughts and feelings... Even the darker ones...

Maybe even get some feedback/constructive criticism.

It'd also be pretty awesome if I was able to reach a few people.

I'd like that : ,

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Toby Heward5 months ago

    Choices can be hard but they do help us learn. Great piece.

  • WELCOME TO VOCAL KEEP POST MANY STORIES..

  • GOOD BROTHER

  • Hannah Moore5 months ago

    Ask the right questions....

  • Test5 months ago

    Sensational work! Keep up the excellence—congrats!

  • Manisha Dhalani5 months ago

    Somehow, I found this very inspiring.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.