Poets logo

My Very Terrible No Good, Adult Day

Sorry Mom

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 1 min read
11
My Very Terrible No Good, Adult Day
Photo by Thomas Park on Unsplash

Distant,

disconnected,

irritated

and pissed off.

There are a million

different reasons

that make me shake my head

and scoff.

I don't care much

if you like this,

it burns my ass, like a Molotov,

all the many ways

I have been shown

to kindly - fuck right off!

*

The side eye from the lady

at the local grocery store,

she has a lot of money

and she judges, cause I'm poor.

The asshole who ran through the stop,

and threw his finger out the door.

when he was the one that made me

slam my pedal, through the floor.

*

The maddening last-minute mergers

that shove their way in line.

Putting you and everybody else,

on the defensive, all the time.

They tap their brakes

and flip you off

if you try to state your case

And smoke for fifteen minutes

blowing smoke back in your face.

I'm fed up being friendly, yes -

I blame it on my mom

She made say excuse me

to that rude and selfish bum.

She said to turn your cheek

cause it's the Christian thing to do

But nobody offers me their cheek

unless they've told me to eat poo

*

So, here's to all you assholes

making it hard to do what's right

To the ones lucky enough

I didn't exit my car to fight

I have held my tongue

for the last time

next time:

I'll make it - clear as glass

If you do not like it

for heaven's sake

KINDLY, KISS MY ASS

slam poetry
11

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Lamar Wiggins9 months ago

    Whoa!!! Excellent slam dunk!

  • Mark Graham9 months ago

    What a way to get your feelings out for it beats violence. I think we all have those kinds of days once in a while.

  • I felt this so deep in my bones! So relatable! I loved it!

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Magnificently written!!! Grateful you share your voice!!!❤️❤️💕

  • When someone behaves poorly in traffic, I often tell my wife that she may go ahead and flip them off. She never does so I do-- not where they can see it, of course, but still it makes me feel better. I feel you, my friend, through a tongue I've had to bite all the way through more than once (no double entendres intended).

  • Tiffany Gordon 9 months ago

    Speak on it Kelli! Excellent work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.