Poets logo

My Truth

A free write

By Zae JohnsonPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
My Truth
Photo by Elijah Mears on Unsplash

I haven’t always lived in the nice part of town, like I do now.

I’ve lived in the posh areas, but I’ve liked in the ghetto as well.

3AM, you hear the helicopter above your house, the huge light sweeping the streets, and over the loudspeaker they say, “lock all your doors and windows, we’re looking for someone with this description…”

People will joke around and say, “I’m in the ghetto, ratatata!”

They haven’t been scared for their lives, it does something to you…

Ontario, California.

That’s where I lived.

40 minutes east of L.A., not the nicest place.

Homeless people screaming bloody murder at the top of their lungs.

Others skipping down the street, arms intertwined with the demons only they can see.

Always having a baseball bat ready by the front door just in case.

You never know who’ll be on your doorstep when you least expect it.

You learn not to make enemies, to keep your head down, to always have some sort of protection when walking down the street.

That’s what my life was like 8 months ago.

I hopped on a plane to Charlotte, North Carolina.

Best decision I’ve ever made.

Now I live in a two-story house in Ballantyne, it even sounds fancy.

I don’t have to worry about being kidnapped like before. I can walk down the street without fear.

California was a crazy experience, although, it gave me an interesting backstory!

I might not be the typical "normal" but who is normal?

And that’s the truth, the real me.

Who's the real you?

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Zae Johnson

Hi! I'm a young writer in the process of writing a trilogy. I write fiction, non-fiction, and stories based on my life experiences. I write to entertain so I hope you enjoy all of my work!!!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.