Poets logo

My Sister.

By Jamie Ramsay

By Jamie RamsayPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

I’m breaking you open piece by piece.

You cry more easily.

I am able to feed you my mind and it confuses you, but you are a different tree.

We have the same DNA but your roots have their own dirt.

My sister.

Some days you re paint your walls and I forget what colour was underneath.

But you grow wings again and glide against the wind, I see it in your eyes when your intuition is flying beside you.

Summer has an after taste like coins, it reminds us that it’s coming by slowly, and with control, allowing its legs to fall against the mat.

It softly tosses nostalgia of the summer before, the smell of hot dogs in the street, Larissa and me figuring out the world together along Clem Leek and beers on patios.

I wish I knew what I looked like when people dreamt of me.

I wonder whose minds I’ve shown up in while they’re sleeping, without their consent.

People I barely know?

People I went to high school with?

Someone who forgot about me and was reminded.

Is it me in another dimension?

Do I feel all the same things I feel here?

Even side characters have a life, but do they in our dreams?

I wonder if I can place myself in someone’s dream.

I wonder if

surreal poetryslam poetrysad poetrynature poetrylove poemsinspirationalheartbreakfact or fictionart
Like

About the Creator

Jamie Ramsay

Every word is chosen from my throat, in the moments I feel too human.

I am your guide into the sinkhole.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.