Poets logo

My Self Destructive Life

Goodbye my friend

By Charles TurnerPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
My Self Destructive Life
Photo by Timothy Dykes on Unsplash

Don’t wear black for me

From love or sympathy

My self-destructive life’s

Been a troubadour’s delight

Hoist up a round or three

Drink to clown called destiny

Don’t say a prayer

Never have been a Main Street player

Don’t bring flowers and wreaths

Choke over memories

My self-destructive life’s

Been a troubadour’s delight

Once you were a love to me

Found how warm a home could be

Our feet went on fire

Too indiscreet to be a liar

Set up a round again

Drink it with a smile my friend

Who knows the whole truth

Never believe it without the proof

Don’t carve a monument

Pay the poor children’s rent

My self-destructive life’s

Been a vagabond’s delight

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Charles Turner

My work is based on who I am now and have been in the past. It is based on a lifetime of reading. Autobiography, standard fiction, sci/fi, fantasy, westerns. I plan to put together a collection of short stories to publish via Amazon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mark Gagnonabout a year ago

    I think most of us can relate to this.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.