Poets logo

My Playground

(with colors for change)

By Zel HarrisonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
3
My Playground
Photo by Pavel Anoshin on Unsplash

My Playground

(In colors for change)

My playground became an empty field

boarded up by a fence and a gate

to insulate and inoculate this cityscape

My land of play had a new fate.

Once upon a time the colors draped down and up as colors do

They whirled fast on a merry go round that became a painted blur

My first art lesson occurred.

As fast as my little legs could go

I climbed to the top of the slide

step by step

So proud my arms were open wide

By Edge2Edge Media on Unsplash

As they reached up to the sky

Where the blues and the clouds made me cry

my first taste of pride

I got older, and memories swooped

I played basketball in that park

Orange balls skirted red hoops

And gold wedding bands were loops

That linked to people around the park

Their stories were in many hues

Marriages, little ones, and lots of news

But now the sign says:

Closed Park

So I looked through a furrowed hole in the wooden fence in the dark.

Like an old photo, everything in Sepia was outlined with chalk.

In my mind’s eye, I couldn’t let these memories slip away

Thought in my dream that this park was on the fringe of change

One call might find a new burst of color and and a major rearrange

A city answer and a community group

We started to rebuild our park and coined it "Stone Soup”

Two tons of dirt and some train track filings, muscle grease and steel pylons.

The old play equipment was replaced

With a grass colored tree house, and multi- color cars

You couldn’t miss those little drivers

Not even from afar

Behind the fence the sun light shined on the dense weeds which very soon would turn to seedlings

Kids and parents wheeled in wagons of plants and herbs, and the parade of happy colors was undisturbed.

Lavender, and rosemary, tomatoes and peppers, something like Silphium and flower colors that created pandemonium.

This is a color called harmonium. The park is coming back.

Conceived.

The color of joy is received.

By Edward Cisneros on Unsplash

social commentary
3

About the Creator

Zel Harrison

I travel with a nap sack on my back to gather stories and sit in the circle of humanity.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Love it!!!🥰🥰🥰

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.