Poets logo

My People

A random poem

By Amy BlackPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
2
My People
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

These are my people,

writers, artists, gamers, my kids, teachers and techies, helpers and Friends,

these are my people.

Though I don't see them often, and I see some every day,

we all hide in our scripts and our play.

I seek them in secluded places or find them safe at home,

the coffee shops, the bookstores,

the digital world we roam.

Hidden within the ones and zeros,

Tech worlds of unending creation,

or bound by leather, a forgotten play or poem sensation.

Like the novels, I submerge my world-weary mind

These are my family, these are my people,

The best of humankind.

inspirationalslam poetry
2

About the Creator

Amy Black

I am an American contemporary poet and author specializing in speculative YA, adult fiction and children's stories.

https://www.facebook.com/amyblackfiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Gina C.a day ago

    This is really moving! I love how you've found beauty in people - that you recognize it when you see it, and you don't forget about it when everyone is busy with their lives. That you search for it. Lovely poem!

  • J.P. Williamson5 months ago

    I really like this, very relatable.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.