Poets logo

My Parents Raised Me Strong

A Poem

By Oneg In The ArcticPublished about a year ago 1 min read
20
My Parents Raised Me Strong
Photo by Jeremy Bishop on Unsplash

my Ima is strong like both forest and fire

a blaze that can take your breath away

and provide home for many

-

my Aba is strong like root and trunk

arms spread to hold the sky

will never let anything fall

-

my Ima helicopter hover

my childhood bubble

yet wide eyed opened

to so much

-

my Aba presents the past

my retro music education

and hard worker ethic

too much

-

my Ima holds her head high

my Aba never lets her tumble

they both hold me together

in both blaze and root

-

strong voice

compassion

ethics and values

-

they are both giants in their own ways

they are resilient and hard working

they are solid in their identities

they are consistent in their finalities

-

my Ima fiercely stands her ground

unapologetic passion

my Aba with weight of world on shoulders

unshakable drive

-

they’ve raised me in both earthquake and tornado

in gentle breeze and calm seas

in tsunami and eruption

-

and now,

I try to balance both blaze and blow

without being overshadowed

or seen as too bold

sad poetrysurreal poetrylove poems
20

About the Creator

Oneg In The Arctic

A storyteller and poet of arctic adventures, good food, identity, mental health, and more.

Co-founder of Queer Vocal Voices

Some other rad writers to check out:

James ❄️ TheDaniWriter ❄️ Melissa

RiverJoy ❄️ J. Delaney-Howe ❄️

Water is Life ✊

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • J. Delaney-Howeabout a year ago

    I am all about the balance! Loved this.

  • This was such a beautiful tribute to your Ima and Aba! Sending you guys lots of love!

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Wow! ‘Balance blaze and blow’ - powerful and insightful. Really leveled up on this one. Fantastic!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    This is a gorgeous piece. Well done.

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Truly beautiful and heart-touching poem! Your words are so full of love. The picture is so breathtaking! Very well-done!

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    there is so much love in These words, I can feel your sweetness for them being told so expertly here!

  • Some amazing words perfectly complimented by your image, this should be a definite Top Story

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    Beautiful poem! You are made of the best of both of them ❤️

  • Linda Rivenbarkabout a year ago

    That is amazingly beautiful! I love it!!!!

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Terrific!!!💖💖💕

  • suman mohanabout a year ago

    Beautiful story!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.